Chinese dragon


In 2014, I was lucky enough to receive an ‘outstanding award’ for one of my photos in the Hong Kong Underwater Photo and Video Competition, and this year I had every intention of competing again. Unfortunately, an unexpected case of appendicitis got in the way and I missed the deadline (as well as quite a lot of summer diving time)!

Therefore I was really happy to be contacted by the editor of EZ Dive magazine last month about submitting some Hong Kong underwater photos for consideration in an exhibition at the 2015 Hong Kong Dive Resort and Travel Expo (aka the ‘DRT show’). It felt like I’d been given a second chance at getting my pictures out to the public this year.

I’m happy to say that one of my photos was selected, blown up to poster size and is on display alongside the work of other local dive photographers at the show from now until Sunday! It’s a shot I took at Sung Kong on what was probably my best local dive of the year. Here it is:

Chinese Dragon E_Pavey HK_ 2015_low res

It’s a pretty straightforward shot of a common local fish, the weedy stingfish, hiding among soft corals, but the pastel colours,  shallow depth of field and absence of other distractions make it an effective image and I’m delighted it was picked. To me, this fish looks like a Chinese dragon. Perhaps it’s the whiskers.

I’m honoured to be part of this exhibition and of the growing local community of underwater photographers who are bringing Hong Kong’s  unique underwater environment to public attention. In addition to this exhibition, there’s lots more on at the DRT show this Saturday and Sunday, including talks by local diving groups and professionals as well as overseas operators promoting their destinations. Whatever kind of diver you are, it’s worth a visit.

You can get in for half price with this voucher (so save it to your phone):

FB_IMG_1449655143257


If you enjoyed this post, please do follow this site by ‘liking’ its facebook page to receive future updates, or subscribe by email (scroll down, bottom right). Thank you!

Categories: GeneralTags: , , , , ,

4 comments

  1. Wow, Congratulations! It is indeed a great picture 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

